A Bit Of Work In Progress

So I’ve been promising you all a bit of music, and I’ve been promising you this for a very long time.

Well today I’m finally delivering!

I strummed out a chord progression on Sunday, and played it to Jacko on Wednesday, and almost immediately we turned it into this.

Now this is a real rough and ready recording. There’s clearly a lot of mistakes, but we did record this mere minutes after we wrote it and through my laptop’s built in mic. Despite all that, we both really like it!

I don’t know if we’ll be making many changes to the song and its structure. I quite like the idea of having a nice and simple song, lasting for not much more than two minutes.

But we’re not done yet! The next steps will be to get it tight and pen some lyrics.

Let me know what you think, any suggestions will be most welcome! If you’re nice I’ll pin up some other recordings for you!

7 Comments

Filed under Band, Recordings, Song Writing

7 responses to “A Bit Of Work In Progress

  1. I like it! Do you guys have any words yet? I’m interested to see what you turn it into. Always glad to hear people working on new stuff…keep it going!

  2. Really pleased to hear that someone else is publishing rough recordings. I’m always hesitant to share my rough song ideas, but the feedback I get always helps my songs to evolve. Listening to this recording makes me realize how much a laptop microphone cuts out the lower frequencies of the guitar. I’d love to hear a sample of the singer. Not necessarily for this recording, but just to know what sort of sound they’re aiming for.

    • When we get a singer I’ll be showing them off on here!

      We had to use the laptop’s mic because my guitar is not an electro acoustic. The microphone didn’t pick up the sound well. If it looks as though we’re going to be playing pubs and the such like, a nice new acoustic maybe my first purchase!

  3. AJ "Dub Saint" McKay

    Looking forward to seeing where this goes! I started checking you out on Soundcloud.

Leave a Reply

