Rise Against – A Love Letter

I love Rise Against. So many of their songs compete to be my favourite. What I love about their music is that it is so full of strength. It motivates me, it keeps me going. They are my spinach to my Popeye.

Here are a few of my favourite Rise Against tunes, and why I love them.

Architects
The opening riff rings out like an alarm bell calling for your attention. Quickly followed by what only can be described as the band furiously punching their instruments. Calm. Quickly shattered by the band launch head first into the verse, where Tim McIlrath asks, nay, demands, “Are there no fighters left here any more? Are we the generation we’ve been waiting for?”.

Brilliant. Just brilliant.

Endgame – 2011

Give It All
Lyrically this is by no means Rise Against’s most articulate, or even most political song, but the muted strums and screaming of the verse contrasted with the poppy hooks of the chorus, turn an average song into something special.

This track never ever fails to lift me. I listen to this before sitting exams, before going into important meetings, when I’m down and when I feel that I’m veering off course. Like some marvellous medicine, it always works.

Siren Song Of The Counter Culture – 2004

Hero Of War
The first time I heard this track, the opening verse sent shivers down my spine. There is something so chilling and so striking about the clearness of just a voice and a acoustic guitar

That is of course, the desired effect. To grab you, and make you think twice about Iraq, Afghanistan and other conflicts with Western involvement. You don’t have to agree with the band and their message, but you do have to think.

Appeal To Reason – 2008

Built To Last
This is not a Rise Against song, but rather a cover of the punk legends, Sick Of It All.

Kicking off with a machine gun drum-roll intro, setting the pace for the next two minutes and fifty three seconds. The song does not relent for the entirety of the track. Speed and power.

When I’m running half marathons, I have this one timed to come on at the twelve mile point, with one mile to go. You should see me. Like Usain Bolt on Speed.

The Suffer and The Witness (Bonus Track) – 2006

3 Comments

Filed under Awesome Bands I Like

3 responses to “Rise Against – A Love Letter

  1. I absolutely love how Rise Against is so personal with their music! Pretty much everyone I know can relate to one song or another from them. Their song, ‘Savior’ helped through a really rough break up, which Rise Against song has helped/ inspired you most?

    • It’s got to be Give It All. I listen to it all the time. The one that affects me the most is Tip The Scales. I can’t listen to it, I feel as though I’m not doing enough in my life and I’m going in the wrong direction.

  2. Pingback: I Want Your Loveletters! | Starting a Band is harder than you think

Leave a Reply

