Acoustic Jams

I’ve been playing a lot of acoustic guitar lately. This is for a few reasons:

i) it’s a lot easier just to pick up an acoustic and strum away than it is to set up a strat and plug everything in.
ii) I’ve been listening to a lot more acoustic guitar based music lately, like the ever fantastic Frank Turner, and Alkaline Trio’s amazing reworking of old songs on their album Damnesia.
iii) I’ve brought my acoustic guitar from my parents house to my flat.

The main driving factor in all of this is that I realised that I’m unlikely to ever be in a punk band again. Most people in their twenties just are to focused on their careers and watching telly with their girlfriends to harbour any ambitions to play in a band. And let’s be honest, punk-rock is a little childish.

I thought it would be much easier to get somewhere with writing songs and playing them to people if I wrote them all myself as cut down singer-songwriter tunes.

It would seem that my good friend Jacko has had similar ideas. He text me out of the blue a week or so ago and said about giving the music one more go. We did. Just two guys playing acoustic guitars. It was great! We came to the conclusion that less is more and we really should refrain from over complicating songs. Maybe if I learn to sing the two of us will be enough to complete a band after all.

Here is a nice video of Frank Turner

No songs from Damnesia are available of YouTube, however Dan Adriano (Alkaline Trio bassist) has his own solo album, Hollow Sounds, which is brilliant. Here’s a track from there.

Leave a comment

Filed under Band

Leave a Reply

