Meeting the Singer – Auditions In The Beer Garden

I met up with the girl I mentioned in the last post. We went for a drink in a local and sat in the sun. She was really nice, very friendly and chatty, and down to earth, a real person. When we started the band, Jacko and I both stated that we want people who we can get along with, being in a band is a pretty expensive hobby (there is very little money to be had, lets not kid ourselves), and we want to have fun with our friends. Well, I think she would fit the bill.

My only concern at this stage is her voice. Obviously I didn’t make her audition in the middle of the beer garden, but I checked out her previous band’s myspace when I got home. Don’t get me wrong she can sing, and has a lovely voice. But will this fit the hard and fast punk that we play? I’m not too sure.

Who knows? She may be up for something a bit heavier. Or she might not even want to sing for us when she hears our stuff.

Hopefully she will be able to match the sound we’re carving out, and hopefully our songs can build a platform for her vocals to stand on.

Either way, I hope I have made a new friend. She writes and records solo albums all by herself, and although being new to the city like I am, she has friends here, so it would be cool for us to all hang out together. Time will tell.

Leave a comment

Filed under audition, Band, Carving the sound, singer

Leave a Reply

