Finding a singer

Today I am going to combine my two favourite subjects into one post; women and punk music. How will I do that you may well ask. I shall do this by writing about getting a female singer for the band!

There are several advantages to have a female frontman (or should that be female-frontwoman? or just frontwoman?); you can hop on the Paramore bandwagon, you will stand out a lot more from the other bands playing with you, girls have nice singing voices, they also smell better than blokes…the list is endless.

I went on Gumtree last weekend and found a ad advertising a female singer in our area (I was also looking for a bassist but they seem hard to come by), so we started emailing back an forth until we arranged to meet up today (it was meant to be last night, but she cancelled! Scuppered my Saturday night plans!).

All this is pretty standard, until I told Jacko about it. As I went to show him the emails, he said,
“I bet I know who this is!”. Sure enough he did. Turns out that before we decided to start the band, Jacko had met up with this girl to jam. Nothing came of it because he was asked to join another band shortly afterwards (nothing came of that one either, the missing ingredient? Surely it was me).

I’m not sure why nothing got going with our potential singer and Jacko, he hasn’t stopped going on about her. Not just for her singing ability but also for her looks, her sense of style, her accent, the way she has her hair…blah blah blah

My worry now is that if I tell her that my bandmate knows her already, she will think we have been stalking her. Just to clarify, this has been a complete coincidence! Honest guv! But I’m really not sure when, or how to bring this up. Maybe when I meet her tonight I just won’t mention it.

I’ll keep you posted on how this goes, hopefully we should have a near complete band soon, and really get the ball rolling in terms of gigs.

Leave a comment

Filed under Band

Leave a Reply

